Obama’s Highly Educated Voters

Diplomad nails this one on the head!

Have a few minutes to spare? Go to “Google,” type in the phrase “highly educated voters,” hit “Search News.” Go ahead. We’ll wait . . . OK, what do you get? All sorts of stories about Obama voters, and how he attracts the “highly educated.” You will get the same from the pundits on network and cable news: lots of blather about how Obama appeals to “highly educated” Americans.

He recounts his days in the State Department, having to hire some Presidential Management Interns.  All the candidates were from elite universities.  Rather than rely solely on their polished resumes, he had a different idea:

I could not do that. I stole a friend’s idea and devised “The World War II Test.” I invited the applicants for interviews.

I hit them with the test, which consisted of about dozen questions about WWII and its aftermath. I recall a few…

Can you tell me how US troops got into Europe in the first place? When was WWII? (I would accept a variety of answers as long as the applicant could defend the dates as the true start and end of WWII.) What nations comprised the principal Allied and Axis powers? Who was Neville Chamberlain? What he did he do at Munich and with whom? Who was Mussolini? What did he do to Ethiopia? Who was Stalin? Who was Hirohito? What was D-Day? What President ordered the dropping of the atomic bombs and why? Can you name a result of the Conference at Yalta? What was the Berlin Airlift?

What followed was classic…

Of the 14 or 15 applicants I interviewed, only one got them all right — the only male in the crowd, by the way. None, zero, zip of the rest got even ONE right. Not a single one. A very irritated applicant asked me, “Do we really need to know this old stuff?” I noted that we worked with NATO and Europe, hence, it was important to know the background that led to the creation of NATO and the then just-concluded Cold War. She stared at me and said, “What does World War II have to do with NATO, the Cold War and Europe?”

Sorry for reprinting so much, Diplomad.  It was just too good to keep bottled up.

Now, I’m not saying that I’m a history giant carrying mountains of knowledge, but this is fairly basic stuff.  I am pleased that both the wife and I will be able to pass down and stress the importance of such knowledge to our children.

If you, dear reader, don’t know many of these things, please do read up on them…. especially on the subject of Chamberlain.  Then think about that in context with Obama’s promise to talk with the heads of Iran.  A chill will go up your spine, I promise.

Leave a Reply

